Aimee Puluso, Health Officer/Local Registrar
Kim Horiguchi, Administrative Clerk/Deputy Registrar/Board of Health Secretary
Melinda Pflug, Administrative Clerk/Alternate Deputy Registrar
The Vital Statistics and Administrative Division performs a wide range of activities, including:
- Board of Health
- Dial-A-Ride Program
- Body Art Facilities
- Dog Park Annual Tags and Entry Fobs
- Farmers Market
- Food Vending Machines
- Massage Facilities
- Retail Food Establishments
- Pet (Cat/Dog)
- Public Recreational; Bathing Facilities
- Septic Pumper Licenses and Pumping Permits
- Septic Systems
- Vital Statistics
- Birth Certificates
- Marriage Certificates
- Death Certificates
- Marriage Licenses
APPLYING FOR A NJ MARRIAGE LICENSE IN MONTVILLE
Requirements for entering into a marriage in New Jersey
The following criteria must be met to apply for a NJ marriage license in Montville:
- At least one applicant must live in Montville, and the marriage will occur in New Jersey (the license is valid throughout New Jersey and is good for 30 days once issued), or;
- Neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, but the marriage will occur in Montville (the license is only valid in Montville and good for 30 days once issued);
- Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this state or recognized by this state;
- Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under the age of 18 may enter into a marriage with parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Part.
- Make an appointment with the Registrar to apply for a marriage license. Appointments are available Monday through Friday, between 9:00 am and 3:45 pm.
- Plan your appointment for about 2 to 3 weeks prior to the marriage. Appointments must be made no earlier than 30 days prior to the marriage (the license is only good for 30 days once issued) and no less than 3 business days before the marriage (there is a 72 hour waiting period between filing the application and the issuance of the license).
Required documents when applying for a marriage license
- Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
- Proof of residency (only if a NJ resident) in the form of a piece of official mail such as a bank statement, utility bill, mortgage statement, tax bill, etc.
- Social Security number* if you are a United States citizen
- One witness, 18 years of age or older
- The $28 application fee (check or cash only, exact change preferred, no debit/credit)
* Your social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.
Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
Additional documents (not required, but strongly recommended to ensure accuracy)
- A copy of your birth certificate to establish your parents’ names and place of birth as they are stated on their birth certificates.
- If you are divorced, have had a previous civil union dissolved, domestic partnership terminated or have had a civil union annulled, please bring the decree(s) or the civil annulment documents showing the date and the location of that event.
- If your former spouse, civil union, or domestic partner is deceased, please bring the death certificate.
After you apply
There is a state-mandated 72-hour waiting period (three 24-hour periods, includes weekdays and weekends) from the time the application is filed until the time the license can be issued. The 72-hour waiting period begins at the time and date that the application is filed with the Registrar. There is no 72-hour waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage.
The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year.
The marriage license is valid for 30 days from the date it is issued.
Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.
The only exception to this requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are to be performed on the same day. In this case, the Local Registrar will photocopy the marriage application, marking one “A” and one “B”, and issue the corresponding marriage licenses, marking them “A” and “B” as well. One copy will be used for the religious ceremony and the other for the civil ceremony.
For individuals who are currently married in New Jersey or are married in another state or country, the option exists to reaffirm your relationship/vows by registering a remarriage.
To apply for a remarriage, the couple must provide proof of their existing marriage, meet the requirements for entering into a marriage in New Jersey and follow the guidelines above to completing the license application. The process for a remarriage license is the same as for the marriage license, except that the remarriage license must be accompanied by the proof of existing marriage. There is no 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued.